Custom Sandstone Creations

Here is a piece that I recently finished for my dear friend Dora and her family. She asked me if I could paint a sandstone of her little Chihuahua named Chiquita. Now I’m really picky when it comes to custom work, I really have to like the subject and if they have a photo of something they would like painted, it has to be a really great shot.

You wouldn’t believe the photos people want me to paint. A nice little old lady contacted me once and asked me to paint her cat, wonderful I thought I like cats have two myself. When I saw the photo I thought O’boy this is not good. The photo was taken from about 10 feet away of a cat curled up in a ball sleeping. I thought does she want me to paint the couch, lamp, wall hangings and the rest of the rooms decor as well… I hate to disappoint and art is about translation and creativity,  so I got creative and painted her cat, she was very happy and commented that it looked just like her cat.

Well Dora didn’t disappoint me and provided a great shot of her Chiquita. She must have gotten way down to Chihuahua level and snapped off a great photo for me to go by.

Dora and her family were thrilled with the results, and I was thrilled to create a work of art that they will enjoy forever!

Title: XoXo,

Size 7 X 7 inches

Ink on Sandstone

Leave a Reply

